Travelers on the Berlin-to-Prague Elbe route, which needs this shallow, low-profile 98-guest ship.
Think twice if: No elevator is listed in the ship features, and Standard cabins sit on the Main Deck.
See her Europe sailings ↓ · Where is she now? → · Viking River Cruises's page for this ship →
What she's like
Docks close to the town centre in most ports. Under 200 guests, so no lines and no tender boats.
English; line built for North Americans. Adults only: guests must be 18+. †
Our judgment, from $ (budget) to $$$$$ (ultra-luxury).
One included shore excursion in each port, wine/beer/soft drinks with lunch and dinner, free Wi-Fi, all meals, port taxes. Not included: gratuities, drinks outside meals, airport transfers unless air bought from Viking (transfers rule is official, Booking Terms). †
Minimum age 18; no kids' clubs; adults only †
Casual by day; no formal nights; 'elegant casual' in the evening, jacket and tie optional †
† From an independent source, not the line itself. Confirm with the line or your travel agent before you book.
Where she sails in Europe
- Elegant Elbe
- Christmas Along the Elbe
We don't have her sailing-by-sailing schedule yet. See the line's site for dates.
What it costs beyond the fare
| Tips for the crew | Europe: $20 USD per person per night if prepaid, or EUR 20 per night if charged onboard †; Added to your bill automatically? Yes, may be added to shipboard account at the recommended rate; adjustable at Guest Services † |
|---|---|
| Drinks package | Silver Spirits Beverage Package, about $27 per person per day. Included for Explorer Suites; both guests in a cabin must buy; age 21+. † |
| Wifi | included (free on Europe ships; may be slow) |
| Specialty restaurants | No extra-charge restaurants on Longships; Aquavit Terrace is free † |
| Money on board | EUR † |
† From an independent source, not the line itself. Confirm with the line or your travel agent before you book.
How tipping and money work on a European cruise → · Build a full trip budget →
Her restaurants · 0 included, 0 extra
| Where to eat | Cost |
|---|---|
| Restaurant | Not stated |
| Aquavit Terrace (al fresco) | Not stated |
Which cabin to book, and which to avoid
| Cabin type | Size | Decks |
|---|---|---|
| Veranda Suite (AA) | 250 incl. veranda sq ft | 2 |
| Veranda Stateroom (A, B) | 180 incl. veranda sq ft | 2 |
| French Balcony Stateroom (C, D) | 122 sq ft | 2 |
| Standard Stateroom (E) | 140 sq ft | 1 |
Good to know before you pick
- The lift does not reach the lowest cabin deck. Guests in those cabins use the stairs.
- The lift does not reach the sun deck.
- Main Deck (1) Standard cabins are next to (aft of) the restaurant on the same deck, per plan positions
- All Standard cabins are on the Main Deck, the same deck as the Restaurant.
- Only 2 Veranda Suites aboard.
- Cabins with windows that don't open: 1 (Main Deck): Standard E cabins, half-height picture window.
If you use a wheelchair or walk with difficulty
No elevator is listed in the ship features on the Viking page. Guests with a disability must travel with an able-bodied companion; wheelchairs max 22 inches wide; no motorized scooters; Accessibility Form due 30 days before departure. No tendering on river. † Our accessibility guide →
Find your way around
Our own deck plans, drawn from the line's official plan: tap a deck to see it from above, with what's at the front, middle and back of the ship. Use “Find on board” to light up every deck with a pool, a bar or a restaurant. Not to scale.
- Deck 3 · Sun Deck , Sun deck; Bridge (wheelhouse)
- Deck 2 · Upper Deck , Veranda (B) and French Balcony (D) cabins; Veranda (A), French Balcony (C), Veranda Suite (AA) cabins; Guest Services; Shop; Lounge & Bar; Aquavit Terrace
- Deck 1 · Main Deck , Standard cabins (E); Restaurant; Buffet
What to book, and when
Booking, check-in and reservations
Optional excursions booked in My Viking Journey once Viking emails that they are loaded; excursions can be cancelled for a refund up to 7 days before online or 3 days by phone. Deposit and payment schedule depend on the promotion and are shown on your invoice (official Booking Terms). Europe boarding from 12:00. †
Paying and cancelling
Cruises over 35 days: $1,000 fee 180+ days out, 20% at 179-150, 40% at 149-120, 60% at 119-90, 80% at 89-60, 100% at 59 or fewer days. Free cancel within 24 hours of booking direct. (Viking Booking and Sale Terms)
Tips for her Europe sailings
Ships dock near city centres; exact dock in your cruise documents. Many sailings start or end in Amsterdam, Basel, Budapest, Passau, Nuremberg, Paris or Porto (fleet file, unverified). †
Where she docks
Usually in or near the city centre; check documents †
If the river is too high or too low
Viking may swap guests between ships, use motorcoaches, or change ports; any money back is set by the Passenger Ticket Contract. Official terms: vessels and itineraries 'subject to change, delay, substitution or cancellation'. †
How much walking on the included tours
Included tours involve cobblestones and stairs; you must get around the ship independently †
Low bridges and the sun deck
Yes on low-bridge stretches; guests report the sun deck closed and the wheelhouse lowered, while the Aquavit Terrace stayed open †
The ship in numbers
- Cruise line
- Viking River Cruises
- Kind of ship
- River
- Built
- 2015
- Guests
- 98
- Crew
- 33
- Cabins
- 49
- Guest decks
- 3
- Length
- 110 m (361 ft)
- Width
- 13 m (43 ft)
- Flag
- Switzerland
- Class
- Viking Longship: Elbe class (361 ft)
- Ship number
- ENI 07002023
- Sister ships
- Viking Beyla
- In Europe 2026–27
- Elbe
- Rivers
- Elbe
Highlights
- Built 2015; 98 guests, 33 crew, 49 outside staterooms (Viking ship page).
- Aquavit Terrace at the bow for open-air dining with river views.
- Free Wi-Fi and laundry service (Viking ship page).
More pictures
Sources & what we could not confirm · 10 sources · checked 2026-11
- Viking Astrild: Viking ship page (facts, features, itineraries)
- Viking deck plan PDF (Viking Longship: Elbe class (361 ft))
- VesselFinder vessel record (registry, flag/size)
- Viking Booking and Sale Terms & Conditions (PDF)
- CruiseDirect: Viking River gratuities (secondary)
- Pavlus Travel: Viking River FAQs (secondary)
- CruiseWeb: What's included on Viking River (secondary, updated Oct 2026)
- Cruise Addicts: Silver Spirits guide (secondary)
- Cruise Critic forum: Viking river boats upper deck (secondary)
- International Travel News reader letter (secondary, 2008)
- No refurbishment year is published on the Viking ship page.
- Beam is VesselFinder's rounded figure, not a Viking number.
- Rivers are derived from the itinerary names listed on the ship page (Nov 2026); they change by season.
- Viking River Cruises: vikingrivercruises.com and viking.com return 403 to both plain download and WebFetch; most facts are secondary.
- Viking River Cruises: Silver Spirits price varies by source ($25 vs $27 per day).
- Viking River Cruises: Deposit amount not published; set per promotion on invoice.
- Deck plan: No lift is labelled on any Elbe deck plan and the Viking Astrild page lists no elevator; treat 'no elevator' as likely, not confirmed


