Food-focused couples who want a calm, upscale mid-size ship.
Think twice if: Quiet, grown-up atmosphere with little for children to do.
See her Europe sailings ↓ · Where is she now? → · Oceania Cruises's page for this ship →
What she's like
Easy to find your way around. Fewer crowds getting off in port. About 53 tons of ship per guest. As a rule of thumb, 40 or more feels roomy and under 30 feels busy.
Unknown from line's site.
Our judgment, from $ (budget) to $$$$$ (ultra-luxury).
Shipboard gratuities, specialty restaurants (no extra charge), in-room dining, unlimited Starlink Wi-Fi, sodas, specialty coffees and teas, still/sparkling water, juices and smoothies, fitness classes, launderettes. Alcohol packages, excursions, air and transfers are optional extras.
Under-18s must share a cabin with an adult 18+. No kids' club stated.
Resort / country-club casual; 'elegant casual resort wear' for evening dining. No formal nights stated.
Where she sails in Europe
Europe (varies)
We don't have her sailing-by-sailing schedule yet. See the line's site for dates.
What it costs beyond the fare
| Tips for the crew | included; Suites: included; Not added automatically; 'Your World Included' applies to new reservations from Oct 1, 2024 for sailings on or after Jan 1, 2025. |
|---|---|
| Drinks package | Optional beverage package (price not published); soft drinks and specialty coffees included. |
| Wifi | Included (unlimited Starlink Wi-Fi). |
| Specialty restaurants | Included; reservations from 45 days before sailing if paid in full (earlier for suites). |
| Money on board | USD ('Oceania Cruises uses a cashless system based on the U.S. dollar.') |
How tipping and money work on a European cruise → · Build a full trip budget →
Her restaurants · 7 included, 0 extra
| Where to eat | Cost |
|---|---|
| The Grand Dining Room | Included |
| Terrace Café | Included |
| Waves Grill | Included |
| Toscana | Included |
| Polo Grill | Included |
| Red Ginger | Included |
| Jacques | Included |
| Privée | Not stated |
| La Reserve | Not stated |
Which cabin to book, and which to avoid
The line doesn't publish cabin sizes for this ship that we could find.
Good to know before you pick
No cabin warnings found on the plan.
If you use a wheelchair or walk with difficulty
Wheelchairs/scooters must be collapsible and no wider than 22 inches; some ports may not suit limited mobility; tenders used in certain ports. Our accessibility guide →
Find your way around
Our own drawing, built from the line's deck plan. Tap a deck to see what's on it, or use “Find on board”. Not to scale.
- Deck 16 , Sports Deck; Paddle Tennis; Golf Putting Greens; Sun Deck
- Deck 15 , Fitness Track; Shuffleboard; Croquet and Bocce
- Deck 14 , Toscana; Privée; Polo Grill; Library; Baristas; Sun Deck; Sanctuary; Patio; Aquamar Spa + Vitality Center; Fitness Center
- Deck 12 , The Culinary Center; Artist Loft; Terrace Café; La Reserve; Waves Grill; Pool Deck
- Deck 11 , Staterooms: Oceania Suites, Penthouse Suites, Concierge Level Veranda
- Deck 10 , Staterooms: Owner's Suite, Vista Suites, Penthouse Suites, Inside, Concierge Level Veranda
- Deck 9 , Staterooms: Owner's Suites, Penthouse Suites, Vista Suites, Inside, Concierge Level Veranda
- Deck 8 , Staterooms: Owner's Suites, Vista Suites, Inside, Veranda
- Deck 7 , Staterooms: Penthouse Suites, Deluxe Oceanview
- Deck 6 , The Grand Dining Room; The Grand Bar; Martinis; Casino
- Deck 5 , Reception; Destination Services; Concierge; Lounge; Boutiques; Red Ginger; Jacques
What to book, and when
Booking, check-in and reservations
Deposit $750 per person (20% for Owner's, Vista and Oceania Suites), due within 7 days if booked 120+ days out. Final payment 90 days before for voyages under 15 days (150 days for 15+). Shore excursions bookable from 180 to 3 days before sailing.
Paying and cancelling
Tiered penalties by days before sailing (cancellation in writing); exact tiers not published.
Tips for her Europe sailings
Tender ports are announced onboard with boarding times and locations.
The ship in numbers
- Cruise line
- Oceania Cruises
- Kind of ship
- Premium
- Built
- 2012
- Guests
- 1,250
- Crew
- 800
- Cabins
- 624
- Guest decks
- 11
- Gross tons
- 66,172
- Length
- 239 m (785 ft)
- Width
- 32 m (106 ft)
- Flag
- Marshall Islands
- Class
- Oceania (O) class
- Ship number
- IMO 9438078
- Sister ships
- Marina
- In Europe 2026–27
- Europe (varies)
Highlights
- Hands-on cooking classes at The Culinary Center (Oceania deck plan)
- 624 suites and rooms (Oceania)
- Specialty restaurants are included in the fare (Oceania)
More pictures


Sources & what we could not confirm · 6 sources · checked 2026-11
- Oceania: Riviera ship page
- Oceania: Riviera deck plans
- Wikipedia: MS Riviera (secondary)
- Oceania Cruises press release: Your World Included
- Oceania Cruises FAQ
- Oceania Cruises, marina deck plans page
- crew, beam and speed from Wikipedia (Oceania does not publish them)
- dining 'included' based on Oceania statement 'Always included... all specialty dining'; Privée/La Reserve cost not stated
- guest_decks counted from decks listed on Oceania deck plan page
- Oceania Cruises: Beverage package price
- Oceania Cruises: Cancellation tiers
- Oceania Cruises: Online check-in timing
- Oceania Cruises: Nationality mix
- Deck plan: Not read via WebFetch in this pass
