Nordlys
Small ship & sail · built 1994 · 590 guests

Nordlys

Hurtigruten (Norwegian Coastal Express) · Kong Harald class (Volkswerft Stralsund, 1993-94)

Photo: Virtual-Pano, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Is she right for you?

Travelers who want to see the whole Norwegian coast on a working ship that also carries locals and cargo.

Think twice if: This is a working coastal ship: short stops, some calls in the middle of the night, and drinks are not included with meals.

See her Europe sailings ↓ · Where is she now? → · Hurtigruten (Norwegian Coastal Express)'s page for this ship →

At a glance

What she's like

Size & feelMid-size · 590 guests

Easy to find your way around. Fewer crowds getting off in port. About 19 tons of ship per guest. As a rule of thumb, 40 or more feels roomy and under 30 feels busy.

Who you'll sail with

Unknown from line's site.

Price level$$$$$

Our judgment, from $ (budget) to $$$$$ (ultra-luxury).

Included in the fare

Signature Voyages (Svalbard Line, North Cape Line) are all-inclusive: cabin bookings include unlimited select drinks in Flora, Brasserie Arran and 1893 Bar during opening hours; suites include more. Original (Coastal Express) inclusions not published. Bergen luggage handling included.

Children

No minimum age; under-12s must travel with an adult.

What to wear

Informal; pack layers, waterproofs and boots for outdoor activities (no dress code statement found).

Where & when

Where she sails in Europe

Norwegian coast

Hybrid.

We don't have her sailing-by-sailing schedule yet. See the line's site for dates.

Your real budget

What it costs beyond the fare

Tips for the crewNo gratuity policy found on the help pages downloaded.
Drinks packageIncluded on Signature Voyages (select drinks); Original voyages not published.
Money on boardNOK onboard (e.g. laundry 'NOK 30 (~$3) per load'); booking charged in the currency of your market (USD for US bookings).

How tipping and money work on a European cruise → · Build a full trip budget →

Her restaurants · 1 included, 1 extra

Where to eatCost
Torget (main restaurant; full board, drinks not included)Included
Kysten (à la carte)Not stated
Brygga (bistro)Extra charge
Multe (bakery & ice cream)Not stated
Choosing your cabin

Which cabin to book, and which to avoid

The line doesn't publish cabin sizes for this ship that we could find.

Good to know before you pick

  • Deck 6 midship cabins (609-632) sit below the deck 7 Multe bakery / fitness area; forward deck 6 cabins below the Explorer lounge & bar
  • Deck 3 cabins sit directly below the deck 4 restaurants (Torget aft, Kysten and Brygga midship)
  • Lifeboats drawn along both sides of deck 6 midship and deck 5 midship (outdoor walking deck)

If you use a wheelchair or walk with difficulty

Accessible cabins with automatic doors and wheelchair storage: 331, 333 and 335, plus suite 643. Accessible toilets on decks 4 and 7. Most public areas step-free from the central lift; at least two wheelchair-accessible public toilets per ship; some outdoor decks have raised thresholds. Wheelchair users asked to travel with a companion and bring their own wheelchair. Guests must carry their own luggage in most ports (except Bergen). Elevators: Lifts just aft of midship and forward; decks 2-7 Our accessibility guide →

Deck plans

Find your way around

Our own deck plans, drawn from the line's official plan: tap a deck to see it from above, with what's at the front, middle and back of the ship. Use “Find on board” to light up every deck with a pool, a bar or a restaurant. Not to scale.

  1. Deck 7 , Observation deck and seating area; Fitness room; Multe bakery & ice cream; Explorer lounge & bar
  2. Deck 6 , Hot tubs
  3. Deck 5 , Observation deck; Outdoor walking deck (both sides)
  4. Deck 4 , Torget restaurant; Kysten restaurant; Brygga bistro; Kompass Service Center / Information / Shop / Post office; Lecture halls
  5. Deck 3 , Check-in point and gangway
  6. Deck 2 , Car deck; Tender area; Sauna

Open Hurtigruten (Norwegian Coastal Express)'s official deck plan →

Planning your trip

What to book, and when

Booking, check-in and reservations

Final balance due 90 days before departure. Check-in times vary by voyage (Bergen terminal opens 11am; luggage drop 1-2:30pm).

Paying and cancelling

25% fee at 90+ days; 50% at 60-89; 75% at 30-59; 100% under 30 days.

Tips for her Europe sailings

Coastal Express is a working ferry route: most ports have no luggage handlers, so pack light. Weather can cancel ports in winter.

Before you go

The details

The ship in numbers

Cruise line
Hurtigruten (Norwegian Coastal Express)
Kind of ship
Small ship & sail
Built
1994
Last refit
2024
Guests
590
Crew
55
Cabins
200
Guest decks
6
Gross tons
11,204
Length
122 m (400 ft)
Width
19 m (63 ft)
Flag
Norway
Class
Kong Harald class (Volkswerft Stralsund, 1993-94)
Ship number
IMO 9048914
Sister ships
Kong Harald, Richard With
In Europe 2026–27
Norwegian coast
Worth knowing

Highlights

  • Interior art and colors inspired by the Northern Lights
  • Hybrid ship (Hurtigruten facility list)
  • Sails the classic Bergen-Kirkenes Coastal Express
  • Last refurbished 2024
On board & ashore

More pictures

Sources & what we could not confirm · 11 sources · checked 2026-11
Still being confirmed
  • Deck numbers inferred from the official deck plan drawing (top deck numbered from the WC/deck references in Hurtigruten's FAQ and cabin numbers); check before publishing.
  • Deck layout read from a sister ship's plan; this ship's own plan lists the same venue names.
  • Crew count from Wikipedia (secondary).
  • Hurtigruten (Norwegian Coastal Express): Gratuities
  • Hurtigruten (Norwegian Coastal Express): Wi-Fi
  • Hurtigruten (Norwegian Coastal Express): Smoking
  • Hurtigruten (Norwegian Coastal Express): Original-voyage inclusions
  • Hurtigruten (Norwegian Coastal Express): Language and nationality mix
  • Deck plan: Deck numbers are not printed on the plan; inferred from cabin-number prefixes (6xx = deck 6 etc.) and deck order
  • Deck plan: Cabin category codes (e.g. U2D, P2D, J3, I2) shown on plan but their meaning and sizes are not stated on the plan
  • Deck plan: Sister ships not checked separately