Liberty of the Seas
Mass-market · built 2007 · 3,798 guests

Liberty of the Seas

Royal Caribbean International · Freedom class

Photo: Dickelbers, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Is she right for you?

Families who want big-ship activities with freshly updated venues.

Think twice if: Large ship: long walks and busy pool deck on sea days.

See her Europe sailings ↓ · Where is she now? → · Royal Caribbean International's page for this ship →

At a glance

What she's like

Size & feelVery large · 3,798 guests

A floating resort with the most to do. Expect lines at boarding, the buffet and tender boats. About 41 tons of ship per guest. As a rule of thumb, 40 or more feels roomy and under 30 feels busy.

Who you'll sail with

Unknown from line's site (English is the shipboard language; nationality mix on Europe sailings not published).

Price level$$$$$

Our judgment, from $ (budget) to $$$$$ (ultra-luxury).

Included in the fare

Cabin, main dining room, buffet (Windjammer) and casual venues, basic drinks (water, brewed coffee, tea, iced tea, lemonade, milk, select juices), continental room-service breakfast, entertainment, kids' clubs. NOT included: alcohol, soda, specialty dining, Wi-Fi, shore excursions, gratuities. Top 'Star Class' suites move specialty dining, a drinks package, gratuities and Wi-Fi into the fare.

Children

Adventure Ocean kids' program for ages 3-17; nursery-age care from 6 months on some ships (line's guide: 'kids (6 months to 12 years old)'). No adults-only sailings; adults-only Solarium.

What to wear

Casual by day; 'smart casual' evenings; 'Dress Your Best' (formal-optional) nights: one on 5-night cruises, two on 6-10-night cruises.

Where & when

Where she sails in Europe

Northern Europe & Baltic, Norwegian Fjords, British Isles

We don't have her sailing-by-sailing schedule yet. See the line's site for dates.

Your real budget

What it costs beyond the fare

Tips for the crew$18 per person per day; Suites: $20.5 per person per day; Added to your bill automatically
Drinks packageDeluxe Beverage Package and others sold per person per day; price varies by sailing and is shown in the Cruise Planner (no fixed published price found). 18% gratuity added automatically. Can buy online up to 72 hours before sailing or onboard on day 1.
WifiNot included. VOOM (Starlink) Wi-Fi: $16.99-$30.99 per device per day; cheaper if bought before sailing.
Specialty restaurantsExtra charge; 3-Night and Unlimited Dining Packages sold pre-cruise (up to 40% savings). Per-restaurant prices not published on pages checked.
Money on boardUSD (onboard account in US dollars; other currencies converted, limit USD $950 per person per day)

How tipping and money work on a European cruise → · Build a full trip budget →

Her restaurants · 2 included, 0 extra

Where to eatCost
Chops GrilleNot stated
WindjammerNot stated
Sorrento's PizzaNot stated
Café PromenadeIncluded
Chef’s TableNot stated
Giovanni's TableNot stated
Johnny RocketsNot stated
Cupcake CupboardNot stated
Main Dining RoomNot stated
El Loco FreshIncluded
Izumi TeppanyakiNot stated
Choosing your cabin

Which cabin to book, and which to avoid

Cabin typeSizeDecks
Ocean View (deck 3 listing)162 sq ft3
Interior (deck 3 listing)162 sq ft3

Good to know before you pick

  • Deck 10 midship cabins sit directly under the Deck 11 pools and Splashaway Bay
  • Deck 10 aft cabins sit under the Deck 11 Windjammer Cafe
  • Deck 11 forward cabins 1100-1156 sit beside the fitness center and below the Deck 12 spa
  • Deck 12 aft cabins 1892-1902 sit next to Adventure Ocean and the Arcade and below the Deck 13 sports court and FlowRider
  • Deck 3 forward cabins are beside the Royal Theater
  • Accessible (wheelchair icon) cabins are marked on decks 2, 6, 7, 9 and 10; connecting cabins are marked with a link icon

If you use a wheelchair or walk with difficulty

Royal Caribbean's deck plan marks accessible staterooms and offers accessible versions of cabin types (count not published on the page). Accessible cabins have 32-34 inch doors, no threshold, roll-in showers; request at booking; special-needs form at least 30 days before sailing. Tender policy for wheelchair users not found on pages checked. Elevators: ELEV. marked at a forward bank and a bank aft of midship on decks 2-13; extra elevators by the Centrum on decks 3-5 Our accessibility guide →

Deck plans

Find your way around

Our own deck plans, drawn from the line's official plan: tap a deck to see it from above, with what's at the front, middle and back of the ship. Use “Find on board” to light up every deck with a pool, a bar or a restaurant. Not to scale.

  1. Deck 15 , Small open-deck structure (no named venues)
  2. Deck 14 , Suite Lounge; Viking Crown Lounge; Crown Lounge
  3. Deck 13 , Freedom Dunes; Rock Climbing Wall; Sports Court; The Perfect Storm (waterslides); FlowRider
  4. Deck 12 , Vitality at Sea Spa; The Lime & Coconut; Running Track (both sides); Movie Screen; Nursery; Adventure Ocean; Arcade; Johnny Rockets
  5. Deck 11 , Vitality at Sea Fitness Center; Solarium; Whirlpools (Solarium); The Lime & Coconut; Main Pool; Sports Pool; Splashaway Bay; El Loco Fresh; Chops Grille; Giovanni's Italian Kitchen; The Plaza Bar; Windjammer Cafe
  6. Deck 10 , Cabins
  7. Deck 9 , Cabins
  8. Deck 8 , Cabins
  9. Deck 7 , Cabins
  10. Deck 6 , Cabins
  11. Deck 5 , Outdoor Deck; Star Lounge; Library / Card Room; Sorrento's; Bull & Bear Pub; Casino Royale (non-smoking); Royal Promenade and Promenade Shops; Cafe Promenade; Shore Excursions; Next Cruise; R Bar; Guest Services; Main Dining Room
  12. Deck 4 , Royal Theater; Izumi Hibachi & Sushi; Schooner Bar; Bar; Casino Royale; Playmakers Sports Bar & Arcade; Centrum; Boleros; Main Dining Room
  13. Deck 3 , Royal Theater (lower level); Studio B; Photo Studio; RCTV; Art Gallery; Main Dining Room (lower level)
  14. Deck 2 , Studio B / Center Ice Rink

Open Royal Caribbean International's official deck plan →

Planning your trip

What to book, and when

Booking, check-in and reservations

App check-in is available up to the morning of boarding (opening date not found). Beverage packages bookable online up to 72 hours before sailing. Deposit: 10% of fare or the standard deposit, whichever is higher; $500 per person for 15+ night cruises. Assistance requests 30 days before; sign-language interpreting 60 days.

Paying and cancelling

Cancellation charges follow the standard policy for your sailing; non-refundable-deposit fares lose the deposit. Exact day thresholds not published from the pages checked.

Tips for her Europe sailings

Summer 2027 Freedom of the Seas from Southampton; Barcelona and Rome (Civitavecchia) round-trips. Onboard currency exchange limited; carry euros for ports.

Before you go

The details

The ship in numbers

Cruise line
Royal Caribbean International
Kind of ship
Mass-market
Built
2007
Last refit
2026
Guests
3,798
Crew
1,360
Guest decks
13
Gross tons
155,889
Length
339 m (1,112 ft)
Width
56 m (185 ft)
Flag
Bahamas
Class
Freedom class
Ship number
IMO 9330032
Sister ships
Freedom of the Seas
In Europe 2026–27
Northern Europe & Baltic, Norwegian Fjords, British Isles
Worth knowing

Highlights

  • Freedom-class ship refurbished in late April 2026
  • 2026 refit added The Lime & Coconut bar, an escape room, Izumi Teppanyaki and El Loco Fresh (Wikipedia)
  • About 3,798 guests at double occupancy
On board & ashore

More pictures

Sources & what we could not confirm · 13 sources · checked 2026-11
Still being confirmed
  • Dining cost marked only where the ship page says complimentary; other venues left blank (cost not stated on the pages read)
  • Deck plan venue labels are drawn as images (SVG paths), so per-deck venues could not be read
  • Beam is Royal Caribbean's published figure, which appears to be maximum width including bridge wings
  • Royal Caribbean International: Drinks package price (dynamic, not published)
  • Royal Caribbean International: Online check-in opening date
  • Royal Caribbean International: Final payment date and cancellation penalty schedule
  • Royal Caribbean International: Wheelchair tender policy
  • Royal Caribbean International: Nationality mix on Europe sailings
  • Deck plan: Cabin sizes came only from the deck 3 room listing in the page data; other categories not captured
  • Deck plan: Liberty of the Seas assumed to match as sister ship (its own plan files exist but were not compared)
  • Deck plan: Deck 15 drawing shows only a small structure without venue names