Families who want the biggest, newest Royal Caribbean ship in Europe.
Think twice if: One of the largest ships afloat: crowds, long walks and heavy port impact.
See her Europe sailings ↓ · Where is she now? → · Royal Caribbean International's page for this ship →
What she's like
A floating resort with the most to do. Expect lines at boarding, the buffet and tender boats. About 44 tons of ship per guest. As a rule of thumb, 40 or more feels roomy and under 30 feels busy.
Unknown from line's site (English is the shipboard language; nationality mix on Europe sailings not published).
Our judgment, from $ (budget) to $$$$$ (ultra-luxury).
Cabin, main dining room, buffet (Windjammer) and casual venues, basic drinks (water, brewed coffee, tea, iced tea, lemonade, milk, select juices), continental room-service breakfast, entertainment, kids' clubs. NOT included: alcohol, soda, specialty dining, Wi-Fi, shore excursions, gratuities. Top 'Star Class' suites move specialty dining, a drinks package, gratuities and Wi-Fi into the fare.
Adventure Ocean kids' program for ages 3-17; nursery-age care from 6 months on some ships (line's guide: 'kids (6 months to 12 years old)'). No adults-only sailings; adults-only Solarium.
Casual by day; 'smart casual' evenings; 'Dress Your Best' (formal-optional) nights: one on 5-night cruises, two on 6-10-night cruises.
Her Europe sailings, May 2027 to October 2027
50 sailings in Europe on the published schedule, 3 to 7 nights. Tap a start port to see how to get from the airport to the ship.
Where they start
- Barcelona , 25 sailings how to get there →
- Civitavecchia (Rome) , 25 sailings how to get there →
What it costs beyond the fare
| Tips for the crew | $18 per person per day; Suites: $20.5 per person per day; Added to your bill automatically |
|---|---|
| Drinks package | Deluxe Beverage Package and others sold per person per day; price varies by sailing and is shown in the Cruise Planner (no fixed published price found). 18% gratuity added automatically. Can buy online up to 72 hours before sailing or onboard on day 1. |
| Wifi | Not included. VOOM (Starlink) Wi-Fi: $16.99-$30.99 per device per day; cheaper if bought before sailing. |
| Specialty restaurants | Extra charge; 3-Night and Unlimited Dining Packages sold pre-cruise (up to 40% savings). Per-restaurant prices not published on pages checked. |
| Money on board | USD (onboard account in US dollars; other currencies converted, limit USD $950 per person per day) |
How tipping and money work on a European cruise → · Build a full trip budget →
Her restaurants · 1 included, 0 extra
| Where to eat | Cost |
|---|---|
| Basecamp | Not stated |
| Izumi Hibachi & Sushi | Not stated |
| Surfside Bites | Not stated |
| Surfside Eatery | Not stated |
| Giovanni’s Italian Kitchen & Wine Bar | Not stated |
| Hollywoodland Supper Club | Not stated |
| Royal Railway: Legend Station | Not stated |
| Pier 7 | Not stated |
| AquaDome Market | Not stated |
| Coastal Kitchen | Not stated |
| Dining Room | Included |
| El Loco Fresh | Not stated |
| Park Café | Not stated |
| Pearl Café | Not stated |
| Chops Grille | Not stated |
| Sorrento's Pizza | Not stated |
| Hooked Seafood | Not stated |
| Izumi in the Park | Not stated |
Which cabin to book, and which to avoid
| Cabin type | Size | Decks |
|---|---|---|
| Ocean View (deck 3 listing) | 160-187 sq ft | 3 |
| Interior (deck 3 listing) | 156 sq ft | 3 |
| Spacious Interior (deck 3 listing) | 178 sq ft | 3 |
Good to know before you pick
- Deck 14 midship cabins sit under the Deck 15 pools (Royal Bay, Cove) and Chill Island bars; Deck 14 aft cabins under the Windjammer Marketplace and Hideaway
- Deck 7 aft cabins line Surfside (carousel, Splashaway Bay, arcade)
- Deck 8 cabins on the inner side face Central Park (midship)
- Deck 4 and Deck 3 cabins sit beside the Music Hall and Casino Royale
- Accessible and connecting cabins are marked with icons per the plan legend
If you use a wheelchair or walk with difficulty
Royal Caribbean's deck plan marks accessible staterooms and offers accessible versions of cabin types (count not published on the page). Accessible cabins have 32-34 inch doors, no threshold, roll-in showers; request at booking; special-needs form at least 30 days before sailing. Tender policy for wheelchair users not found on pages checked. Elevators: Two main elevator banks, forward and aft of midship, on decks 2-17; Deck 18 forward bank only Our accessibility guide →
Find your way around
Our own deck plans, drawn from the line's official plan: tap a deck to see it from above, with what's at the front, middle and back of the ship. Use “Find on board” to light up every deck with a pool, a bar or a restaurant. Not to scale.
- Deck 20 , Waterslide tower (drawing without labels)
- Deck 19 , The Grove Suite Sun Deck
- Deck 18 , The Grove Suite Sun Deck, pool and whirlpool; The Grove
- Deck 17 , Coastal Kitchen; Cloud 17 Pool; The Lime and Coconut; Cloud 17 whirlpool; Smoking Area; Sports Court
- Deck 16 , Coastal Kitchen Suite Lounge; Swim & Tonic; The Lime and Coconut Frozen Bar; Dry Slide; Chill Island; Crown's Edge; Adrenaline Peak; Desserted Milkshake Bar; Basecamp and Basecamp Bar; Lost Dunes (mini golf); Thrill Island; FlowRider
- Deck 15 , The Overlook Pods; AquaTheater / AquaDome; Rye & Bean; Hooked Seafood; Celebration Table; AquaDome Market; Table Tennis; The Lime and Coconut (two bars); Sprinkles; Chill Island; Cove Pool; Royal Bay Pool; Cantina Fresca; El Loco Fresh; Windjammer Marketplace; Hideaway Pool and The Hideaway Bar
- Deck 14 , The Overlook; To Dry For; Vitality Spa; Cabins
- Deck 12 , Vitality Spa; Cabins
- Deck 11 , Cabins
- Deck 10 , Cabins
- Deck 9 , Cabins
- Deck 8 , Hollywoodland Supper Club; Izumi Hibachi & Sushi / Izumi in the Park; Chops Grille; Trellis Bar; Central Park; Park Cafe; Bubbles; Lou's; Retail; Dry Slide
- Deck 7 , The Pearl (top); Surfside Eatery; Arcade; Carousel; Sugar Beach; Sprinkles; Playscape; Pier 7; The Lemon Post; Splashaway Bay; Baby Bay; Water's Edge Pool
- Deck 6 , Fitness Center; Escape Room; Crown Lounge; Royal Railway Legend Station; Dueling Pianos; The Pearl / Pearl Cafe; Giovanni's Italian Kitchen & Wine Bar; Royal Promenade; Boleros; Schooner Bar; Playmakers Sports Bar & Arcade; Adventure Ocean; Social020
- Deck 5 , Fitness Center; Royal Theater; Running Track; Sorrento's; Royal Promenade; Spotlight Karaoke; Starbucks; The Pearl; Shore Excursions; 1400 (lobby bar); Ale & Arrow; Guest Services; Crown & Anchor Society / Next Cruise; Dining Room; Absolute Zero
- Deck 4 , Royal Theater (lower level); Music Hall; Casino Royale; Dining Room
- Deck 3 , Medical Center; Music Hall (lower level); Non-Smoking Casino; Dining Room (lower level)
- Deck 2 , Port Gangways (forward, midship, aft)
What to book, and when
Booking, check-in and reservations
App check-in is available up to the morning of boarding (opening date not found). Beverage packages bookable online up to 72 hours before sailing. Deposit: 10% of fare or the standard deposit, whichever is higher; $500 per person for 15+ night cruises. Assistance requests 30 days before; sign-language interpreting 60 days.
Paying and cancelling
Cancellation charges follow the standard policy for your sailing; non-refundable-deposit fares lose the deposit. Exact day thresholds not published from the pages checked.
Tips for her Europe sailings
Summer 2027 Freedom of the Seas from Southampton; Barcelona and Rome (Civitavecchia) round-trips. Onboard currency exchange limited; carry euros for ports.
The ship in numbers
- Cruise line
- Royal Caribbean International
- Kind of ship
- Mass-market
- Built
- 2026
- Guests
- 5,610
- Crew
- 2,350
- Guest decks
- 20
- Gross tons
- 248,663
- Length
- 364 m (1,196 ft)
- Width
- 65 m (213 ft)
- Flag
- Bahamas
- Class
- Icon class
- Ship number
- IMO 9888560
- In Europe 2026–27
- Western Mediterranean
Highlights
- Icon-class ship; maiden voyage 29 July 2026 (Royal Caribbean)
- Royal Caribbean lists up to 5,610 guests and 20 decks
- Royal Caribbean markets weeklong sailings from Europe for this ship
Sources & what we could not confirm · 13 sources · checked 2026-11
- Royal Caribbean: Legend of the Seas ship page
- Royal Caribbean: Legend of the Seas deck plans (ship profile data: length/beam in feet, crew, speed)
- Wikipedia: Legend of the Seas (2026) (secondary)
- VesselFinder vessel record (registry: flag, gross tonnage, year)
- Royal Caribbean: What is included on a cruise
- Royal Caribbean FAQ: dress code
- Royal Caribbean FAQ: beverage packages
- Royal Caribbean FAQ: deposit requirements
- Royal Caribbean: designated smoking areas (UK site)
- Royal Caribbean: accessible cruises guide
- Royal Caribbean FAQ: local port currency (UK site)
- Royal Caribbean FAQ: children and teen activities
- CruiseTimetables.com: Legend of the Seas schedule (independent listing)
- Dining cost marked only where the ship page says complimentary; other venues left blank (cost not stated on the pages read)
- Deck plan venue labels are drawn as images (SVG paths), so per-deck venues could not be read
- Beam is Royal Caribbean's published figure, which appears to be maximum width including bridge wings
- Royal Caribbean International: Drinks package price (dynamic, not published)
- Royal Caribbean International: Online check-in opening date
- Royal Caribbean International: Final payment date and cancellation penalty schedule
- Royal Caribbean International: Wheelchair tender policy
- Royal Caribbean International: Nationality mix on Europe sailings
- Deck plan: Cabin sizes came only from the deck 3 room listing in the page data
- Deck plan: Deck 20 drawing has no labels; assumed to be the waterslide tower
