Iona
Mass-market · built 2021 · 5,200 guests

Iona

P&O Cruises (UK) · Excel class (Excellence class)

Photo: kees torn, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Is she right for you?

British families who want the biggest, newest P&O ships.

Think twice if: Over 2,600 cabins: expect crowds on sea days and queues at popular venues.

See her Europe sailings ↓ · Where is she now? → · P&O Cruises (UK)'s page for this ship →

At a glance

What she's like

Size & feelVery large · 5,200 guests

A floating resort with the most to do. Expect lines at boarding, the buffet and tender boats. About 35 tons of ship per guest. As a rule of thumb, 40 or more feels roomy and under 30 feels busy.

Who you'll sail with

not published from line's site.

Price level$$$$$

Our judgment, from $ (budget) to $$$$$ (ultra-luxury).

Included in the fare

Main dining, theatre shows, live music, gyms, kids' clubs (drinks, Wi-Fi and speciality dining cost extra)

Children

The line doesn't say.

What to wear

The line doesn't say.

Where & when

Her Europe sailings, October 2026 to October 2027

41 sailings in Europe on the published schedule, 5 to 35 nights. Tap a start port to see how to get from the airport to the ship.

Where they start

The counts above are our own tally of the CruiseTimetables.com listing for this ship (an independent site), read in November 2026. We do not reprint the dates here. See the full date list on CruiseTimetables.com. Routes change, so check with the line before you buy flights.
Your real budget

What it costs beyond the fare

Tips for the crewPage exists ('Are tips/gratuities included?') but its answer text could not be read (site blocks plain downloads; WebFetch returned headings only).

How tipping and money work on a European cruise → · Build a full trip budget →

Her restaurants · 1 included, 0 extra

Where to eatCost
The Olive GroveIncluded
Horizon RestaurantNot stated
The Beach HouseNot stated
Choosing your cabin

Which cabin to book, and which to avoid

The line doesn't publish cabin sizes for this ship that we could find.

Good to know before you pick

  • Plan notes: cabins in the forward section can be overlooked by the bridge
  • Cabins with obstructed views are marked with a symbol (numbers not readable from text)
  • Partially adapted grades PB, PC, PF are suitable for non-powered mobility aids, not wheelchairs or scooters; all adapted cabins are shower only
  • Suites 8.109 and 8.110 have no balcony; some balconies have restricted access in high winds

If you use a wheelchair or walk with difficulty

All adapted and partially adapted cabins are shower-only; partially adapted grades (PB, PC, PF) suit non-powered upright mobility aids, not wheelchairs, per the official deck plan Our accessibility guide →

Deck plans

Find your way around

Our own drawing, built from the line's deck plan. Tap a deck to see what's on it, or use “Find on board”. Not to scale.

  1. Deck 19 · Sky Deck , Sports Arena, golf, nets, sunbathing
  2. Deck 18 · Panorama Deck , The Retreat; Beachcomber Pool & Bar; Panorama Pool & Bar; Splash Zone; Jogging track
  3. Deck 17 , The Reef (kids clubs, nursery); Epicurean; Crow's Nest; Sky Bar
  4. Deck 16 · Lido Deck , Horizon Restaurant (buffet); SkyDome and SkyDome pool; Infinity Pool and Bar; Taste 360 / Laguna Bar / The Beach House
  5. 9-15 , Launderette (each cabin deck)
  6. Deck 8 · Promenade Deck , The Keel & Cow, Sindhu, The Olive Grove, The Quays; Ripples, Sindhu Bar; The Club House
  7. Deck 7 · Parade Deck , Headliners Theatre; Casino; The Glass House; Coral Restaurant; The Avenue shops; Reception, Shore Experiences
  8. Deck 6 · Gala Deck , The Limelight Club; Grand Atrium; Oasis Spa; The 710 Club; Aqua, Opal, Pearl main restaurants
  9. Deck 5 , Thermal suite, Oasis Gym

Open P&O Cruises (UK)'s official deck plan →

Planning your trip

What to book, and when

The details

The ship in numbers

Cruise line
P&O Cruises (UK)
Kind of ship
Mass-market
Built
2021
Guests
5,200
Crew
1,800
Cabins
2,612
Guest decks
15
Gross tons
184,089
Length
344 m (1,129 ft)
Width
54 m (177 ft)
Flag
Bermuda
Class
Excel class (Excellence class)
Ship number
IMO 9826548
Sister ships
Arvia
In Europe 2026–27
Northern Europe & Baltic, Norwegian Fjords, British Isles, Canary Islands & Madeira, Atlantic Coast (Spain, Portugal, France)
Worth knowing

Highlights

  • First LNG-powered ship built for the British market, per Wikipedia
  • SkyDome glass-roofed pool deck on deck 16
  • 30 bars and restaurants, 4 pools, 15 guest decks
  • The 710 Club and Headliners Theatre included
On board & ashore

More pictures

Sources & what we could not confirm · 6 sources · checked 2026-11
Still being confirmed
  • Deck list covers only decks whose names or venues the PDF text tied clearly; other decks omitted
  • LNG claim from Wikipedia (secondary)
  • Length/beam from VesselFinder (rounded); P&O's page does not print them
  • P&O Cruises (UK): Onboard currency (likely GBP for a UK line, but not confirmed)
  • P&O Cruises (UK): All fields: P&O's site blocks plain downloads and the help page text did not load
  • Deck plan: Venue-to-deck split from WebFetch; deck 6 and deck 3 venues were mixed in the text
  • Deck plan: Arvia assumed similar to Iona