Travelers who want a resort-style luxury ship with all-suite, ocean-view rooms and many restaurants.
Think twice if: Large for a luxury ship (over 450 suites), so it feels less intimate than yacht-style lines.
See her Europe sailings ↓ · Where is she now? → · Explora Journeys's page for this ship →
What she's like
'The main language of communication onboard Explora Journeys is English', with support in Italian, German, French and Spanish (translated menus and daily programs).
Our judgment, from $ (budget) to $$$$$ (ultra-luxury).
Suite, all meals, alcoholic drinks, cocktails, soft drinks, mineral water, gratuities, port charges, Wi-Fi, entertainment, port-to-town shuttles where applicable. Excursions extra.
Infants must be 6 months+ (1 year+ on sailings with 2+ consecutive sea days); infants 6-23 months sail free; children 2-17 up to 50% off. Drinking age 18 on sailings starting in Europe.
Resort casual by day; from 18:00 'elevated resort-casual' in restaurants and indoor bars (no sleeveless T-shirts, caps or sportswear).
Where she sails in Europe
Europe (varies)
We don't have her sailing-by-sailing schedule yet. See the line's site for dates.
What it costs beyond the fare
| Tips for the crew | included; Suites: included; Not added automatically |
|---|---|
| Drinks package | Included. |
| Wifi | Included: complimentary Wi-Fi in suites and public areas for browsing, messaging, and voice and video calls. |
| Specialty restaurants | Up to two dining reservations before boarding (Sakura and Marble & Co. Grill); any surcharge restaurants not priced on pages checked. |
| Money on board | not published (contract is under English law; fees quoted in USD/EUR/GBP by market). |
How tipping and money work on a European cruise → · Build a full trip budget →
Her restaurants · 0 included, 0 extra
| Where to eat | Cost |
|---|---|
| Anthology | Not stated |
| Marble & Co. Grill | Not stated |
| Sakura | Not stated |
| Med Yacht Club | Not stated |
| Fil Rouge | Not stated |
| Emporium Marketplace | Not stated |
| Chef's Kitchen | Not stated |
Which cabin to book, and which to avoid
The line doesn't publish cabin sizes for this ship that we could find.
Good to know before you pick
- Deck 10 midship and aft suites sit under the Emporium Marketplace buffet (deck 11 midship/aft)
- Deck 10 forward suites sit under the Explora Lounge and Malt Whisky Bar (deck 11 forward)
- Deck 10 aft suites are on the same deck as the Atoll Pool & Bar and the fitness centre
- Accessible and connecting suites are marked with symbols on the suite plan (legend: Accessible Suites, Connecting Suites)
- Every suite is ocean-front with a terrace; suites fill decks 6 to 10, per the deck plan
If you use a wheelchair or walk with difficulty
Accessible suites are marked on the official suite deck plan (page 1); no count is printed Accessible suites with wheelchair-accessible doorways. Tenders 'may not be suitable' for guests with disabilities; crew guide but 'cannot support, lift or carry Guests'. Our accessibility guide →
Find your way around
Our own deck plans, drawn from the line's official plan: tap a deck to see it from above, with what's at the front, middle and back of the ship. Use “Find on board” to light up every deck with a pool, a bar or a restaurant. Not to scale.
- Deck 14 , Sports court; Ocean Wellness open-air fitness; Whirlpool; Sky Bar
- Deck 12 , Helios Pool & Bar (adults only); Running track; Whirlpool
- Deck 11 , Explora Lounge (with outdoor area); Private Dining Room / Chef's Kitchen; Malt Whisky Bar; Nautilus Club; The Conservatory Pool & Bar (indoor whirlpool); Gelateria & Creperie; Emporium Marketplace Restaurant; Emporium outdoor seating
- Deck 10 , Bridge; Ocean Wellness Fitness Centre; Atoll Pool & Bar
- Deck 9
- Deck 8
- Deck 7
- Deck 6
- Deck 5 , Ocean Wellness The Spa; Future Journeys / Ambassadors; Crema Cafe; Anthology Restaurant; Marble & Co. Grill; Galleria d'Arte; MSC Foundation; Sakura Restaurant; Astern Lounge; Pool & Bar
- Deck 4 , Journeys Lounge; The Casino; Guest Services / Destination Experiences; Lobby & Lobby Bar; The Journey and luxury boutiques (Piaget, Rolex, Cartier, Panerai); Med Yacht Club Restaurant; Fil Rouge
- Deck 3 , Medical Centre
What to book, and when
Booking, check-in and reservations
25% deposit to confirm; full payment 90 days before departure (150 for Ocean Residences). Check-in opens 90 days before departure. 10-day free-cancellation grace period if booked more than 365 days ahead.
Paying and cancelling
Terrace suites/Penthouses: admin fee only until 151 days; then 15% (150-121), 25% (120-91), 50% (90-61), 75% (60-31), 100% within 30 days.
Tips for her Europe sailings
Main disembarkation may start 1 hour 15 minutes after arrival; allow enough time before flights.
The ship in numbers
- Cruise line
- Explora Journeys
- Kind of ship
- Luxury
- Built
- 2024
- Cabins
- 456
- Gross tons
- 63,621
- Length
- 249 m (817 ft)
- Width
- 32 m (105 ft)
- Flag
- Malta
- Class
- Explora I class
- Ship number
- IMO 9869887
- Sister ships
- Explora I
- In Europe 2026–27
- Europe (varies)
Highlights
- 456 ocean-front suites, 6 restaurants, 12 bars and lounges, 5 heated pools, per Explora
- About 1.25 guests per crew member (host), per Explora
- Helios Pool on deck 12 is adults only
- Nautilus Club for children on deck 11
More pictures

Sources & what we could not confirm · 9 sources · checked 2026-11
- Explora Journeys: Explora II ship page
- Explora Journeys: Explora II deck plans (PDF)
- VesselFinder: Explora II (IMO 9869887)
- Explora Journeys: booking terms and conditions (US)
- Explora Journeys FAQ: ship
- Explora Journeys FAQ: booking
- Explora Journeys FAQ: culinary experience
- Explora Journeys: accessible suites
- Explora Journeys: Explora I Suite and Public Spaces Deck Plans (PDF, Jun 2026)
- Explora pages call dining 'inclusive culinary experiences' but the fetched pages do not say which venues carry a charge; cost left null
- Crew count not printed; only the 1.25:1 guest-to-host ratio
- Explora Journeys: Onboard currency
- Explora Journeys: Any surcharge restaurant prices
- Explora Journeys: Nationality mix
- Deck plan: Lift and staircase positions are drawn as icons only; not read
- Deck plan: Suite sizes not stated in the PDF; Explora ship page HTML had no sizes in text
- Deck plan: Suite category per zone (Ocean Terrace OT1-OT4, Grand Terrace, Penthouses, Residences) is shown by color only; not mapped
- Deck plan: Explora II assumed same layout (sister; raw4/pdf/explora-ii.pdf not compared)
